Kekkon Dekinai Otoko – Japanese Drama

CREDIT FOR ALL PICTURES GO TO THEIR UPLOADERS!

I just finished watching the Japanese drama Kekkon Dekinai Otoko (The Man Who Can’t Get Married). The main character was a socially awkward man named Kuwano, played by Abe Hiroshi. I first watched Abe Hiroshi in Trick, Season 1, and always wanted to see a good drama with him in the main lead. I enjoyed watching him in Change and Hero, but he wasn’t the main character. I tried watching him in Shiroi Haru, but slow subtitles and a bad ending put me off the drama. I finally got to see him in this drama as the main character and confirmed that my first opinion of him as being a good actor hadn’t been wrong.

In this drama, we see a man who, at first glance, seems to be rude and obnoxious to everyone around him It is only as we, the audience, get to know him along with the other characters in the drama do we see that he just doesn’t know how to act in social situations, BUT he is willing to learn. He’s not a bad person … he doesn’t try to be mean … and when he hurts someone, he apologizes because he’s genuinely sorry. The drama was a good watch and I would highly recommend it. I especially like the little quirky things the drama throws in … like the character of Kaneda that Kuwano is obsessed with or the video store guy/food mart girl and their relationship.

The only reason I watched this drama was that I heard about it after watching the Korean He Who Can’t Get Married. The Japanese version was much better, only because you come away feeling that the main character in the Korean version is just plain mean and even if he apologizes it’s just not enough when he deliberately hurts the other characters.

Watch it if you have the time.

Leave a Reply

