Reading the Twilight Saga

CREDIT FOR ALL PICTURES GO TO THEIR UPLOADERS!

So, I just read the Twilight Saga.

The books are TwilightNew Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn. By Stephenie Meyer

I know that I’m a little too old for these books, but because they were so popular I thought I’d give them a try. I ended up enjoying the books, but I think that was because I went in expecting absolutely nothing and so was able to accept them as harmless reads. But these books might be setting the wrong example for a younger audience. I wouldn’t go into ages, but I think it all depends on the maturity of the reader.

Warning! SPOILERS Ahead!

For those of you who don’t know, and I don’t think there are that many people out there who don’t know about theTwilight Saga, these books are of the paranormal genre and center around vampires, werewolves and humans. The first book details how a human girl, Bella, falls in love with a vampire, Edward. In the second book the vampire leaves the girl for her own good and she spirals into depression.The third book is about an obsessive vampire stalking the human girl, and the human girl coming to realize that although she loves two men, Edward and Jacob, she loves Edward more (this epiphany felt totally unrealistic to me and completely unnecessary. If you want to make a big deal about this fated love between Edward and Bella, do not add in a third party and make Bella love them almost as much). The final book is about honeymoons, painful pregnancies, and births, along with a confrontation with the premier vampire clan in the Twilight world.

When I was reading reviews about these books, people had problems with some of the developments that occurred in the final book (especially Bella’s charmed existence after her transformation, the baby and Bella’s out-of-nowhere love for this child, and the unexciting climax). The biggest gripe of all is that the second man in Bella’s life turns out to be her daughter’s soulmate. This made the books really “icky” for some folk, with some critics going as far as calling the 16 or maybe 17-year-old Jacob to be a pedophile. I personally don’t have a problem with this because Meyer makes clear that there will be nothing untoward going on between Jacob and Bella’s daughter. I find it interesting that people can read about vampires, werewolves, that half-vampire and half-humans reach maturity before humans do, but they can’t accept this soulmate business. Can a reader choose to only suspend their belief on certain parts of a story? Because I kind of knew how the story went, I could see all the little hints that Meyer throws out, warning the alert reader what turns the story will take. So, I don’t understand what all the complaints were about … it’s not like Meyer was subtle about where she would be taking the story.

I’d have to rate Meyer’s writing as nothing spectacular. I didn’t notice anything special … the storytelling wasn’t outstanding, but it wasn’t too overly complicated either. It was straightforward, and her method of writing got the story told. It was the first time I was reading about vampires and werewolves, but the writing was kind of … soothing, I would say. While the Twilight Saga didn’t really stand out as anything special, I would recommend Meyer’s the Host, if readers want to try a gentle sci-fi. It was a long, but enjoyable read. I would like to see that turned into a movie some day.

If any of you have read the Twilight Saga, any opinions?

Leave a Reply

